Archived awards

London Jazz Awards
Announced 16 August 2010

The winners of the London Festival Fringe Awards for London Jazz Instrumentalist and London Jazz Vocalist of 2010 were announced at Pizza Express Dean Street, London on 16 August 2010. Pianist John Turville was named Best Jazz Instrumentalist and the Best Jazz Vocalist Award was shared between Norma Winstone and Cleveland Watkiss.

Global Music Foundation selected the panel of judges and helped establish the nature of the awards.

Pizza Express Jazz Club Soho provided the venue for the judging panel's discussion on June 3rd, and hosted an evening on August 16th at which the winners of the Jazz Awards were announced. The shortlist of nominated musicians is shown below.

Andrew McCormack - piano
Derek Nash - sax
Gareth Lockrane - flute
Gary Crosby - bass
Gary Husband - piano/drums
Henry Lowther - trumpet
John Turville - piano
Kit Downes - piano
Mark Lockheart - sax
Patrick Bettison - bass
Patrick Clahar - sax
Ross Stanley - piano
Steve Melling - piano

Christine Tobin
Cleveland Watkiss
Emma Smith
Fini Bearman
Georgia Mancio
Ian Shaw
Liane Carroll
Nia Lynn
Norma Winstone
Sarah Gillespie
Tammy Weis

Judging panel

Peter King, Saxophone -
Tina May, Voice -
Guillermo Rozenthuler, Voice (Latin) -
Gilad Atzmon, Multi instrumentalist, sax, clarinet, ethnic wind -
Jean Toussaint -
Pete Churchill - Royal Academy of Music
Mark Hodgson -
Jim Hart -
Barry Green -
Brigitte Beraha -
Asaf Sirkis -
Charles Alexander - Jazzwise
Julian Joseph -
Joe Paice - Jazz Services
Paul Pace - Ronnie Scotts
Ross Dines - Music Director, Pizza Express Jazz Club, Soho
Stephen Keogh - Director, Global Music Foundation